I Hate The 80s

Lately on Conflict Diamonds Radio I’ve been exploring a theme called “I Hate The 80s” where I play 80s music (meaning 80s sounding if not always literally from the 1980s) while avoiding all the typical video hits. Lots of italo disco, cold wave, proto-EBM, house, techno, and synthpop. This blossomed into a fortnight-long Giorgio Moroder bender, which produced an entire show focused on his productions. A friend was generous enough to not only record several shows on cassette, but also to rip them to mp3s. 

So in a rather absurd example of media transfer, several of these songs have traveled 30 years on a journey from vinyl to mp3 to CD-R to internet radio to cassette to mp3. All just to get to you. Don’t you feel special? Files below; each is about 30 minutes long. As you might imagine there are lots of sonic idiosyncrasies; I had to leave out the EXCELLENT Side A of one due to quality issues. You get what you pay for. Tracklists will be forthcoming.

I Hate The 80s Tape 1 Side B

I Hate The 80s Tape 2 Side A

I Hate The 80s Tape 2 Side B

Giorgio Moroder Tape 1 Side A

Giorgio Moroder Tape 1 Side B

Giorgio Moroder Tape 2 Side A

Giorgio Moroder Tape 2 Side B

6 Responses to I Hate The 80s

  1. anodynelite says:

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing. Love love EBM and italo.

  2. nice post.. the 80′ is not that bad.

    • Gavin says:

      Thanks. The name is a bit of cheek — “I Love The 80s” is a series of pop culture nostalgia shows here in the US, focusing on the most obvious fads and video hits. I try to plow the fertile underground instead.

      I’ll do another installment this Friday from 4-6 PM Central Standard Time. Check it out at http://www.uicradio.org.

  3. Birdseed says:

    Looks nice. We seem to have remarkably similar music tastes what with the 80s material and the second world bass stuff. I’ll give it a listen!

  4. Marinkina says:

    То что бредомысли это точно :)
    Видно настиг творческий кризис. Мысле нет о чем писать :)

  5. Ferinannnd says:

    Давно искала эту информацию, спасибо.

Leave a Reply

